Bloggers Unite: An Impromptu Comparo

Not too long after posting my very first product review, I receive a delicious little POP morsel from my mail server. Matt, who writes The Dandooligan blog, apparently had been drooling over a set of Etymotic ER6i earbuds for some time now, but now is quite infatuated with my Big Ears. 😉

So what is a man to do?

When you are torn, pulled in two directions at once, and sitting on a tallish fence not knowing which way to fall,  there is hope for you yet. This dilemma calls for a comparo! And that is exactly what the Dandy Hooligan proposed we’d do.

On Feb 14, 2011, at 12:25 PM, Matt wrote:

Right, just read your review on Big Ears. I want a set. BUT, I want to know how much they’re better than ER6i’s… So, I make you a deal. I order a set of ER6i’s, have them shipped to you. You test them side-by-side with the Big Ears, and once you’re done, ship them to me. I’m sure, at the very worst, you won’t leave anything on them that can’t be cleaned with a bit of rubbing alcohol, a q-tip, and paper clip. Then, based on your comparo, I’ll decide if I want a set of big ears…

How’s that sound?

Thanks,

Matt

While reading his email, I kept thinking to myself that this has got to be a joke. A joke about as funny as that free AMB transponder somebody offered to give me on craigslist. He wants to do what? Just buy something that isn’t exactly cheap, send it to me, let me use it so I can tell him what I think and (hope I’ll) send it back to him.

A few emails later it’s a deal. He now knows where I live and I hope that he’ll just send earbuds and not some other surprise, like a Ninja with throwing stars and a contract.

Trust. It seems to be a rare thing these days. Matt had said that he likes to trust people, because if he ends up not getting burned, there is hope for humanity yet. I feel the same way. I refuse to live my life in fear and I refuse to treat others based on the douche bags who’ve made it their life’s goal to create their magnus opus by stealing, cheating, and raping. People who have decided, for whatever reason, to be a generally miserable lot who can only feel good about themselves when they manage to be mean and disrespectful to their fellow human beings. I have to believe there are more of us than there are of them, so I’m letting it hang out and hope for a padded envelope rather than a fit man dressed in black.

Stay tuned for our Etymotic ER6i vs. Big Ear BE-1C comparo!

ER6i

Read Matt’s Post over at The Dandooligan blog, titled: “Lend an ear – Bloggers unite!


2 Comments on “Bloggers Unite: An Impromptu Comparo”

  1. […] after reading Miss Busa’s review on the Big Ear in-ear buds I got to thinking. I love to listen to music while I ride, and I’ve heard wonderful […]

  2. sherry says:

    Well, seeing how much you paid for the Big Ears, I really hope you like them better. Let us know.


Leave a comment