OK, it’s official. I need THREE bikes!

2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

2009 Yamaha FJR1300A

Holy Helena! What’s a chica to do when all of a sudden a load of options become available that previously were ummm…. forbidden fruit by compromising decree of the better half. Well, I suppose most dreams are dynamic, which is good in and of itself, but presents a host of new problems. Namely, how do you find the compromise between all the things you want to do, but would need three bikes to do it with? How do you know which one to choose, which characteristics are more important and which ones can be lived without or farkled on later?

It’s just another rant of mine. Something that’s been pulling me this way and that. The more research one does, the more one learns, the more confused the issue becomes. *sigh* Actually, I think I want four bikes, that way I can keep Kittyhog, too. Because I do love her so. Now, off to buy a lottery ticket so I can afford a house with a triple-car garage and room for five bikes (my 4 plus hubby’s, well maybe I can make do with three, I’m sure I could…. LOL)

2009 Kawasaki Concours 14

2009 Kawasaki Concours 14: Sport-Tourer based on the ZX-14 powerplant

The dilemma: 2 Sports Touring machines which are so close in pros and cons that I keep going back and forth on which one I really SHOULD get. The original dream bike (2009 Yama FJR1300A) or the once-runner-up (2009 Kawi Connie 14), which would be the safe choice because it happens to be hubby’s dream bike and if it doesn’t work out… he’ll take the hand-me-down and I go get the ‘original dream bike’. Was all pretty much settled, until we have another one of those convos, which started out of the blue about a topic that was long since buried due to compromise and respect, but not forgotten. He says: ‘You know, I know you really fell in love with that white Busa at the IMS and I know the ergos were perfect for you without modifications. You didn’t even have to tell me, I could tell by the shit-eating grin on your face. And who am I to tell you what you can and cannot have. I think you can handle her, you are responsible enough and safety-minded enough… blah blah blah’ Basically, he lifted the previously enforced ban on ‘crotch rockets.’ So here I am, plagued by another choice. I totally fell for that bike. It’s sexy, sleek. Can be farkled until the money runs out. I could turn this into a sport-tourer when I need it to, a commuter mostly and a track bike for when October rolls around. But should one decide by love alone???

I feel like a total dork. Like I’m fickle and flakey. Seems like everybody’s got a dream bike, ‘cept for me. Mine changes depending on the mood I’m in, and which side of the brain I’m currently thinking with. The right side is definitely fighting for supremacy with the left side. And I really wonder if my insurance agent will give me the Busa for the premium of an FJR if I promise to stay in Drive Mode ‘C’. ;P

Arrrrgh. I just wanna get my finances straight, sell my bike, go to the dealer and come home with something, just so this can finally end! *starts humming the tune to ‘Torn’*



Leave a Reply

