Shut Your Trap and Ride Your Own Ride!

The Phenomenon:
Truckers have a name for a person who can only be confrontational and talk trash about another person from the safety of their own bubble: The Radio Rambo. Radio Rambos are the kind of people who are nice to your face and are agreeable enough, but once they get on their CB radios from the safety of their own truck and dial it into channel 19, something amazing happens: They grow a set of trash-talking balls: They’ll cuss you out, they’ll talk smack, they’ll know everything better than you and they’ll threaten to kick your ass. But only if you do or say something that isn’t in concert of their own lacking set of standards and beliefs.

The Internet has its own version of the Radio Rambo. They hang out on forums, social media networks, online gaming servers, and anywhere else where they can be socially retarded ass-clowns and spew their hate to enhance their e-peen. All from the safety of their own home via a broadband connection and a dynamic IP. These people aren’t happy – for whatever reason — until they’ve established their so-called superiority by disrupting online camaraderie and inciting dissent and hate.

How I Roll:
I don’t talk voice when I game online, because there is no real good adult conversation to be had, unless it’s on a private server and you’re playing with people you already know iRL or have known for a long time iCL. I don’t participate in ‘controversial’ debates online either. It’s pretty much fruitless unless it is severely moderated and the moderator is impartial. Good luck with that one. I don’t let people rate or comment on my YouTube videos, because I’m not seeking their approval, and by what I’ve seen on YouTube, that’s a good thing. I moderate comments on my blog, same reason. People seem to need a lot of handholding these days, when it comes to etiquette and the social contract. Unless you have some constructive criticism to share, or have something useful to add, or just kudos to spread, I don’t want to hear from you. Go elsewhere. I use the Internet mainly for fun, social interaction on a level that is conducive to empowerment and learning, and for the camaraderie of like-minded people. I take serious stuff private and keep it out of open forum. I don’t personally attack people, or am patronizing, and I always pay attention to what I type. I even reread it several times to make sure I’m not inadvertently coming across as abrasive or could be misread as getting personal. But that’s just me. I don’t like hurting people, and I treat them with the respect and the tolerance that I would expect from others for myself. It is just common sense to me. In other words, I don’t tolerate haters and relationship saboteurs, because I don’t have to. There’s the little X in the corner that shuts them up. But it also shuts up the people that I do like to hang out with. L

WTF?
Where am I going with all of this? This is a motorcycle blog and this has to do with motorcycling. I’m getting to it. I’m just setting the stage, so the reader will know where I’m coming from and understand how I conduct myself online. I have high standards and I’m keeping it that way. Don’t like what I have to say? You know how to close your browser, no? Want to flame? Go ahead, I’ll read your comment, but save your breath, it’ll never be approved and posted. And I damn sure am not going to give you the satisfaction of replying. I don’t participate in the circle jerk of flame wars.

The Scoop:
Not that I had to actually defend myself, my choice of bike, my riding style, my choice of gear, or my level of risk acceptance to anybody in real life. EVER. Not seriously, anyway. It seems that most motorcyclists get along fairly well for the most part, no matter what they ride or how they ride it. In real life, I suppose it comes down to this: If you don’t like a person’s attitude towards riding, you don’t ride with them or hang out with them. Fairly simple. Most of the hate-mongers don’t have the balls to step up to me, while I’m getting off my ‘Busa, and tell me that I’m an asshat for riding the fastest production motorcycle made by mankind and that I’m a prime candidate for killing myself out there. They never tell me to my face that I’m a squid for simply owning one. But online, it’s a different story. Wonder why that is… And I’m sick of it. I’m sick of all the damn stereotypes and all the know-it-alls who don’t even know me or have ever seen me ride. Shut your presumptuous mouths! I don’t want to hear it from you. Your credibility to the validity of whatever comes out of your pie hole is already in the toilet at this point. All you have done, is manage to show your obvious lack of intelligence by providing invalid or unsubstantiated arguments that have the sole purpose of personally attacking, for whatever reason it is that compels you to do so. You aren’t part of any solution. Your crappy logic doesn’t help solve anything, improve anything, or help another rider become a better or safer one. Slinging your so-called credentials around doesn’t really help your cause. Oh, I’m supposed to take EVERYTHING you say as proven fact, because of your so-called “experience”? I’m not one to follow blindly. This IS the Internet, people can be who- or whatever they please. Did I mention I was a rocket scientist with three degrees from MIT? Well, there you have it. I am. Trust me. I know what I speak of. And now I tell you the location of the Anti-Gravity Room: It’s in North Augusta, SC. Don’t you know anything???

If, on the other hand, you have a valid argument and are trying to help another rider out, it would probably be best to be smart and diplomatic about it. If you really care about your message being heard and you feel it is of paramount importance, it would be in your best interest to be supportive rather than abrasive and stereotypical. And quit slinging accolades, nobody cares! You insult or patronize and wonder why your arguments fall on deaf ears. If you want to get your message across, it would be advantageous to not alienate the intended recipient. And for crying out loud, don’t humiliate them in public forum.

Here are some pointers for you asshats who think you know it all, because you have x amount experience, y amount of miles, helped z number of people avoid certain death by giving them your sage motorcycling advice:

1. Not all sport bike riders are jackasses who do wheelies and stoppies in rush hour traffic; or lane-split at 80+ mph; or paint smiley faces on the road with their rear rubber. Don’t you dare judge me by my choice of motorcycle. It makes me think that all you have is throttle envy and you’re in it for the pissing contest and don’t care about the ride at all.

2. Just because I ride a Hayabusa or [insert your most loathed supersport or literbike here] doesn’t mean I’m a moronic speed freak, do triple digits everywhere and view the public roads as my personal racetrack. Get over yourselves. The throttle goes both ways. This also makes me think you’re compensating for something.

3. Saying that all Hayabusa or [insert your most loathed supersport or literbike here] riders are squids is like saying all Harley riders drink and ride. When it comes down to it, everybody’s got a rep, but that doesn’t speak for the whole group, does it? So, fuck you! Don’t judge me by some idiot who happens to ride the same style bike that I do. And I have a newsflash for you: All bikers have a bad rep in the eyes of the non-motorcycling public; to them you’re just another hooligan on two wheels.

4. Why does it matter what the hell a person rides anyway? WHY? Can’t we just all enjoy our chosen sport and get along? It’s not like you have to ride with people you deem incompatible with your own riding philosophies. Personally, I only ride with very select few people. Group riding isn’t for me, it’s too stressful, I stay mostly out of it due to safety concerns.

5. If you dare tell me you never did an Act of Squidliness in your whole entire motorcycling career, I’m going to low-side it in the corner, because I was laughing so freaking hard, I chopped the throttle and upset the suspension. Who do you think is going to buy that??? Get over it and quit lying to yourself. Like you’ve never had an instance of “let’s see what she can do?” on a deserted stretch of public road out in the middle of nowhere. Phuuuleeeze!

6. Just because somebody doesn’t agree with your sentiments, doesn’t mean they’re a worse rider and less safe than you. There’s more than one line of travel through a corner, and different doesn’t necessarily mean worse or unsafe.

7. I hate to tell you all that, no I actually am going to enjoy it: Legal doesn’t equal safe, and illegal doesn’t equal unsafe.  In other words: Just because something is legal doesn’t mean it’s safe. When you’re out there, you ride your own ride. It’s your life on the line, and you are the one in control. You are the only one who will be making the judgment call. Your mission out there is to come home safe and sound, preferably with the bike in one piece. And don’t you dare tell me that how I go about it, is for whatever reason, wrong. I must be doing something right, because I’m still here. And I had more close calls I handled well, without incident, than I care to remember. You’re not the one who is going to visit me in the hospital, pay my medical bills, or visit my grieving family. So STFU!!!

8. Having to make the crappy, no-win choice between keeping it legal and staying safe: Personally, I’d rather be judged by twelve than carried by six. If you don’t like it, again, you’re not riding my ride, are you?

9. However, if you have constructive criticism, valuable input, want to discuss riding skills and techniques, do PLP or practice emergency skills with me, discuss the latest m/c book you’ve read and generally want to get together for the purpose of camaraderie, sharing experiences and help each other become better and safer riders, and you don’t give a hoot what I ride, I’m your girl.

Rolling It TraNceD Style
I will never stop learning. I refuse to become an “experienced” rider. The day I quit learning is the day I should park it for good. I will never stop pushing my boundaries. I’m not an idiot. I don’t blatantly punch through my skill envelope. Constant prodding and gentle pushing is a must for me, though. I want to be the best rider I can be. I don’t want to become a complacent know-it-all; that just spells disaster. If I’m not reaching out of my comfort zone on a regular basis, I’m not working on improving my skill set. I want to keep educating myself, because knowledge is power. What I don’t know can kill me. What I fear can kill me. I don’t have a death wish, I know myself, my weaknesses, my strengths. I know I can be a squid at times, but it’s all good. If I wasn’t a squid at times, I wouldn’t have much of a blog, now would I?

@MissBusa
A girl on a Hayabusa has an instant reputation for badassery. I don’t know why. I joke about it. I enjoy it. It is my online persona. It is the Marilyn Monroe to my Norma Jean.

4 Comments on “Shut Your Trap and Ride Your Own Ride!”

  1. Ms XX Fast says:

    A. I hope that you know I just give you shit for your left turns. It is all in fun.

    B. Is it bad that I wish I could do all four outlined in section 1?? Not that I WOULD, just that I wish I could do so and all without injury. My wheelies suck so the only time they ever happen are when they are power wheelies on the track, my stoppies are nonexistent and I only wish I could do them, but won’t wreck my shit to try and learn. There is no way in hell I’d split lanes at 80 MPH. Last but not least, and sadly, I must say I cannot do one of those monster burnouts and have never tried. I have done little mini ones with my dirtbike but I want to do one of those huge, slow circles. Alas, rubber is too expensive and it is pointless for me to spend any real time learning. Wait, I have some rear take offs that only have rubber left on the middle. Hmmmmm.

    No. 7/8 are both absolutely spot-on. If no one believes it, they obviously have not read the CA m/c driver’s handbook. I suppose crossing over a double-double to avoid being hit is, in essence, illegal so one shouldn’t do it. I’ll take that ticket any time to avoid the alternative.

    I’m with you girlie, don’t let those people upset you. Holier Than Thou weekend warriors irritate us all. At least you have a streetbike and can ride whenever you please and have the skill to do it. I get shit for not being a “real motorcyclist” anymore. WTF ever. It’s my choice to ride only on the track. I think you are a great rider and a brilliant mechanic. Most people can’t even change their own oil or understand what suspension changes make their bikes handle better. You know so much and for that I admire you 🙂 Plus you’re not a snobby m/c girl. I think that is what I like most about you–your genuine, fun-loving nature. I am lucky to have you as a friend 🙂

    p.s. My streetriding days are over, but I have vids of my being a squid a few times 😉 Don’t we all??

    • MissBusa says:

      A.) You are so NOT in that group of peeps that this article was addressed to. And You can give me shit about my left turns any time, hell you can give me shit about my rights, too. 😀

      B.) I can only do two of the four “skills” mentioned. One of which only happens due to hard acceleration, I can’t do wheelies on purpose. So, I guess it’s down to one: lane-splitting at 80MPH. And I would never ever do any of them in heavy-ass rush hour traffic. I’d do that shit when no one’s around to take notice. I’m with you on the learning thing, unless I can afford a stunt bike I’m not going to trash my street/race bike to learn. Same with burnouts. I can do little mini ones, but those monster smokies? Hell no! I’m afraid I won’t be able to hold the bike from stepping out to the side… and that is a skill I have to learn for drag racing, but damn… every time I think about trying it to get more confident I remember the price sticker on a 190/55-17 rear. Now, can I have your race tires to commute on? I’ll give you mine with the worn out middles for track. The edges are in like new condition, they even got the nubbies still around in most places. 😉 To answer the question: there is absolutely nothing wrong with wanting or wishing you could do all those things, but there is a time and a place. Most cagers don’t understand what is happening and they see that sort of thing as an aggression towards them. Like the sport bike equivalent of showing them the finger as you fly by. I believe you should keep that shit on the backroads, if anything. As for the lane-splitting at 80? I’ve done it to get out of trouble. I will do it again. I am also rather fond of tickets over the alternative. Better to have points on your license than flowers on your plot.

      Thank you, M., than means a lot. I am also lucky to count you as one of my friends. Really wish we lived closer. But that is how it goes, isn’t it?

      Surprisingly, the most negativity doesn’t even come from cagers, it comes from other motorcyclists, and most of them women. It’s surprising. Well, maybe not really, considering that most sportbike riding dudes are too busy trying to keep the drool off their chins when a chick on a crotch rocket pulls up to notice any “unworthy” behaviors. LOL They mostly give accolades to chicks who can ride and don’t scooter-poot or wobble free-wheeling through turns. It’s the cruiser women and the Harley guys who seem to confuse riding skill with squidlyness or aggressive crotch rocket antics. I don’t let them bother me. I only take opinions of those who can actually ride seriously or are serious about learning to ride and improving their skills; sometimes it’s just tiring to hear all that shit and try to explain to ears that are stuck to brains that are resistant to information that might just prove them wrong in some way. Too risky, I suppose.

      I, for one, don’t ever wanna be one of those holier-than-tho know-it-all bikers. Being like that is too much risk acceptance for me.

      At the same token, why in the hell does it matter anyway? Why all the negativity? We are all in the same boat, face the same challenges and dangers. None of us wanna see another crash and get hurt or wreck themselves. We should really stick to supporting each other and practice tolerance and solidarity and save the bickering and hatefulness for the assclowns on four wheels.

  2. mtajudy says:

    Oh my gosh, darlin! While reading your blog I find myself making noises like, “OOOOOOO” and “EWWWWWWW” and saying words like, “Oh snap”. I am always entertained and keep coming back. This time, the afore mentioned was true. However, I got to the end and suddenly I was wondering who said what to who and where did this particular post derive? I feel like I am going to have to “tune in next time” to get the whole story….and I will!! I hope the day comes that I do get to meet you cuz you are my kinda people. Fiesty as hell…LOL Ride safe…as safe as one can when pushing ones own abilities to acheive better technic..notice how Im clarifying…LOL
    One more thing… I love my bikes but I love my cage! I am anything but conventional. Happy holidays, sweetie.

    • MissBusa says:

      Judy, thank you for your comment. It means so much when somebody let’s me know that they actually read this thing. LOL Anyhoo, the topic was on my mind again. The post was originally written last year, when I had a massive altercation on a women’s forum over “traction control” banjo bolts and was trying to explain my opinion and how the false sense of security could get new riders into trouble. To make a long story short, I was discredited and lost a bunch of friends, or women who I thought were my friends. I tried. I don’t go there anymore. You can’t support beginning riders when the so-called experienced crowd dismisses you as a complete squid. I can get up in the morning and look myself in the mirror and not be ashamed. I try my best to be supportive, nonjudgemental, informative and help a rider out if I can. I love to learn, take advice, improve my skills and find pleasure in the exchange of ideas, riding philosophies, alternative techniques, etc. But it must be supportive, respectful and actually of help to the random reader who will eventually come across the article, forum thread, blog post. Getting personal and attacking the credibility of each other does so not help and does nothing other than to incite. But I digress… during my research on my latest project (the tether kill install) I’ve done a lot of scouring through forums and blogs and I get sidetracked rather easily and find myself engrossed in something else, and I came across a lot of that behavior that I, a year ago had to endure. Bickering back and forth, personal attacks, trash talk, etc. It just made me think about the whole issue again. And how this pretty much is an online phenomenon. Yes, people get into arguments over certain things in real life, but not as quickly. Seems that motorcyclists as a whole are a much more mellow and accepting crowd when they’re face-to-face. Maybe it’s just another symptom of the relative safety of talking trash from your bubble. Because when you do it in person, you might just risk a broken nose. LOL


Leave a Reply

