OMG! OMG! OMG! The Fat Lady Can Dance?

So I come back from my 14.5K service. I had them throw the Brock’s lowering links on there in addition to the kickstand, since the first looks to be a huge pain in the ass to do yourself, the pipes are in the way; I don’t have a jack; and I can’t get the ‘Busa’s fat ass on the rear stand by myself anyway. But I needed to get this done, because if I hadn’t done it today, it would have had to wait for over a week. 😦 Anyway, I gave them the parts with the instructions to take all the preload off the rear and to install the links at stock length. Dude behind the counter looks at me funny. I know the look… it’s the look of ‘girly, you don’t really know what you’re doing, do you?’ Then he asks me: “Why get lowering links when you want them at stock length?” I reply promptly: “I’ll adjust them later.” He nods, then: “All the preload?” My turn to nod:”Yes, don’t need it. Take the entire 5 mil off.” He writes it down, letting out a longish “Okaaaay.” I leave. Two hours of milling about the nearby shopping center, and hanging out at Starbucks; then the phone call finally comes in. The Fat Lady’s out of surgery. I finish my latte then walk my butt back up the road about a half of a mile. Jamie, their resident ‘Busa tech, tells me that he couldn’t install them at stock length, they’re too long, so she ended up about one inch lower in the rear. I had figured that this might happen, but I couldn’t be sure. I tell him, it’s all good, give them my cash receive my stock parts and am out of there. I walk outside and look at my baby. She’s all squat in the back… looking like she’s driving uphill. Huh. She actually looks faster sitting there with her new linkage and shed of the rear preload. He also adjusted the kickstand for me, but she’s still a little too upright for my taste, so tomorrow I’ll fix that after hubby helps me put her on the rear stand. I throw a leg over and the first thing out of my mouth is: “Holy shit, she sits like the Sporty Low!” Then I giggle. Crap, I have a ton of bend in my knees. I think I might be in danger of dragging ass cheeks. This oughta be interesting. I back her out of her parking spot and find that this is a lot easier than I remember; I’m backed out and gone faster than ever. I pull out into traffic and it only takes me about a mile, the cheese quesadilla S-curve, to be convinced that I might just like the hell out of this. After a few more miles, I’m astonished. What the hell? She’s way more stable (I expected that), she doesn’t want to unload her front-end anymore under hard acceleration (I expected that, too), she’s more settled in turns (I kind of expected that, also) and damn it… what I didn’t expect was that she is freakin’ easier to steer. WTF? That doesn’t make any stinking sense. I increased my rake and trail and the steering is lighter? I’m dumbfounded, but who cares, I’m enjoying the crap out of this new feeling. I sure hope I can make it up onto the curb in our driveway without bottoming out…

I go home and promptly exchange the stock top triple clamp upper with the one I ordered from Exoticycle. Then went for another test ride. It’s all good. Front’s still rigid, behaves pretty much the same as it did with the stock part. Then it dawns on me. I have enough leg room now for my Hayabusa gel seat that I got from hubby for Xmas. Back home I go, switch out the seats and go for another jaunt. Awesome. Now I don’t feel like I’ll be getting road rash on my ass, and I like this even better. Tomorrow when it’s daylight out, I’m going to have to go and really stress test this puppy!

One more thing has got to go though: the stock clip-ons. I need longer bars! The Pazzo Racing levers do not clear the dash plastics and interfere with full-lock when they are in the position and angle I need them to be. I had to basically adjust them to gain clearance, but I’ll be needing another 7-10 mm to prevent the parts from touching. I can still use the fork lock, but it puts the squeeze on the brake lever. I think I’ll probably need about 15 mm to have them clear when they are adjusted properly to my hands. Now I need to find a set that is longer than stock… but nobody ever posts the length of the darned things. So I guess it’s email time.

Still, even with the lever thing, I’m so damn excited, I wanna go ride all night!!!! Shit! I can’t hardly contain myself I’m so happy!!!!

Linkage to the entire series:

  1. Suspension Tuning – Part 1: Rider Sag, Free Sag, and Preload
  2. Suspension Tuning – Part 1: Plan ‘A’. Plan ‘B’. Plan ‘C’ It Is.
  3. Suspension Tuning – Part 1: Exploratory Surgery
  4. Suspension Tuning – Part 1: Let’s Go Shopping!
  5. The (preliminary) results: OMG! OMG! OMG! The Fat Lady Can Dance?
  6. Suspension Tuning – Part 1: The Fat Lady’s Got Slammed
  7. Suspension Tuning – Part 1 (Results): There’s a first time for everything…

5 Comments on “OMG! OMG! OMG! The Fat Lady Can Dance?”

  1. Marianne says:

    “I think I might be in danger of dragging ass cheeks.”

    HEHEHE! Priceless 😉

  2. john says:

    Awesome – you’re a tinkerer like myself. i love tweaking things and customizing. very good
    john

    • MissBusa says:

      I really don’t like tinkering too much… well, I suppose it’s an acquired taste… a means to an end, if you will. Heck with all this wrenching, I wanna ride, but in order to ride better I gotta wrench. It’s a vicious cycle… but I am starting to kind of enjoy it, as I’m learning more about my bike. 🙂 And I am not afraid to break stuff and scratch it… The Fat Lady is a Combat ‘Busa, not a Garage Queen, after all. =P

  3. tinribster says:

    a busa omg, there is just no were to play on a beast like that round here, you enjoy girl…


Leave a Reply

