Can We Get Any More Kinky?

The Practice Corner

Not lookin' at 'em now...

What the heck is going on lately? My riding has definitely become, well…. shit! No other way to say it. And it’s little things that are annoying me now. But for a girl with perfectionistic tendencies, it’s quite upsetting. As soon as I work out one kink that has crept into my riding, another soon follows. I feel like that dude (Heracles) with the snake heads (Hydras): cut off one, two others grow in its place (unless you do something about it). On Tuesday morning, on the way home from work, I had to get gas. I pulled into the BP at the corner, across the street from Fort Gordon’s Gate 2, and I can’t get the approach angle right, so I circle the pumps for another shot. Given, I was tired as shit, had my music cranked way too loud, but damn, woman! After two ‘victory laps’ around the pumps (without success) I was way too embarrassed to actually stop and get gas there, so I left. Defeated and cussing at myself. But this isn’t the first time I’ve noticed a slight problem with my slow-speed turning ability (or the lack thereof), this was just the most blatant display of an episode of ‘This Girl Can’t Ride’. Fuck me! I risked running out of fuel just because I was too embarrassed by not being able to do something I know how to do. But that’s small beans compared to the latest and greatest development in the ‘This Girl Can’t Ride’ mini series. What really is pissing me off lately is a morbid fascination with my speedo. I kid you not, I keep finding myself staring at the darned thing. I would have taped it over already, is it not for the small inconvenience of trying to observe speed limits (for the most part and only loosely). And it’s not just the speedo either, it’s the RPM needle, too. And, I’m also developing the stupid habit of checking the damn gear indicator after shifting. It’s so bad, I’ve noticed how long the lag between the actual shift and the display change is. For fuck’s sake! This in itself wouldn’t be so bad, if it wouldn’t HOLD my attention for longer than a split second… but it does, the speedo in particular. I’ve lost my line and faded left or right on several occasions because of it. Once I almost ran off the road because of it. In a FREAKIN’ corner, people! I checked my fucking speed in a corner… what the hell! Like I have nothing  better to do than to see how fast I’m going while I’m in the middle of a turn. Doh! Dooooohhhhh! Like who cares at this point, right? I’m about to exit and go faster yet… geez!

So, I’ve been trying to figure out why I have developed this unhealthy love-hate relationship with my stinking gauges. I come up with nothing, but I have finally found the reason my lines turned to shit. And to put that to the test, I’ve made a concentrated effort to look THROUGH the turn, which I have been doing (with my head, but the eyeballs apparently are also elsewhere occupied, like said gauges). And, oh, it comes to no surprise that all of a sudden I corner like I used to, and am smooth again. Hmmm…. go figure this one out. So, I have stumbled upon the reason for one of my latest kinks (too many mid-corner corrections) and the gnawing suspicion that I’m going way too fast (which I wasn’t… same… same, I know because I’ve been looking at that infernal speedometer).

I really am at a loss as to why I feel the need to have my eyeballs make love to my gauges… really. I have never had this problem before; neither do I care what gear I’m in, I can hear when I need to shift and damned if I have ever cornered by a number on a dial before. Holy hell. I’m thinking about reprogramming my shift light and taping the whole mess over, so I know when the light’s flashing I must be going approximately 70 in 5th. I don’t know how else to break the habit and still (kind of, sort of) obey the speed limit, especially when I’m by my lonesome self on the Interstate. In town it’s easy, go with the flow.

That’s it. I’m taping the thing over. ALL OF IT! (‘cept for the fuel and temp gauges, of course, and a little cut-out at the redline…)


4 Comments on “Can We Get Any More Kinky?”

  1. chesshirecat says:

    perhaps in the past, as you were learning to perfect your leans,and your lines, you didn’t feel the need to look because the demands of learning gave you the thrill your always looking for, Once you became reasonably competent at these chores, you start to flick your eyes at the speedo…just to see how fast your going while in the “heart” of the lean…soon you are spending a bit more time on the speedo, cuz you want to see where your speed is as your powering out of your curve. It’s only a moment of time, which after weeks, months, years?….becomes an addiction to push farther each run. Faster, faster, verification and instant gratification… the speedo begins to transfix your eyes, if not your attention. That’s how I figured it for me when I was racing…in a land long ago, far, far away.

    • MissBusa says:

      Thank you for your input, cat. 🙂 You might be onto something here, that would really fit into the frustration I had felt for a while now, and which I just recently managed to get shed of. Maybe it’s not completely gone, after all. The frustration with not being able to get better on the street, unless I wanted to well, ‘become part of the problem’ anyway. I need to break myself of it though, no matter the reason.

      “That’s how I figured it for me…” are you saying that this is normal? I mean, that this isn’t some weird, freakish stuff I’m going through? Were you experiencing something similar?

  2. goldiron says:

    Practice is the price of mastery.Whatever you practice over and over again becomes a new habit of thought and performance.

  3. chesshirecat says:

    No, it’s not weird or strange behavior. It’s human nature.
    Yes, I had gone through the very same thing. I still find myself watching (at times)my gauges. For the longest time, the only thing I cared about was my RPM, the seconds it took for me to hit the desired RPM, and the gears I was in. My bikes through the years never had gear indicators on them (my racing days were back in the early 70’s through the mid 80’s.)

    Today, from time to time, I will find myself looking down at my gauges while powering out of a turn…not as bad as finding myself looking at them in the heart of the lean…but still too long to have my eyes off the road in a sharp turn and hard leaning curve. Loosing my line, and finding myself on the high side of where I should be. Scary stuff.


Leave a Reply

