Crashed: Anatomy of an Occurrence

The following message is brought to you by massive doses of Ibuprofen:

After taking pictures of the abuse I put my poor ‘Busa through, Joe took me to the scene of the ‘occurrence’. Rather than trying to talk about it, a few pictures is worth a thousand words, and a video by Mr. Slow is worth disconnecting your Internet for. 😉  I meant to say: a video is worth a thousand pics. Really. I did. No. Honest. Here we go:

After inspection of the damage on my bike, riding gear, and the evidence at the scene of the ‘occurrence’ (I had some training in accident investigation in college) I have to say this: I only walked away from this, with some bruises, a light concussion, and a body that doesn’t seem to want to quit hurting in all sorts of places I didn’t know existed, because I was wearing my gear and have educated myself by reading books on riding technique and practicing these skills on a daily basis (and continue to do so, well… would continue to do so if I had a bike that was in one piece.)


5 Comments on “Crashed: Anatomy of an Occurrence”

  1. Strega Rossa says:

    Good thing it was a low speed get-off although if you were high sided it slammed you onto the ground :(. You walked away from it so all’s well that ends well.

    I’m not gonna comment on shoulda would coulda cause it’s over and you did what you thought was right at the time. If the frame is not tweaked are ya going to ressurect it?

    • MissBusa says:

      Yes ma’am. But it will have to go back to stock height, and I’m going to get a new exhaust system for it and just pay the difference to the shop.

      I would be rather interested in the ‘coulda’ because I wonder what else I may have done to land it that I hadn’t even considered. I keep running it through my head (with as much as I can remember) but can’t come up with anything that’d been feasible. Not like I had a lot of time to weigh my options anyhow, hell I didn’t have the time to properly put my plan into action either, couldn’t get her upright in time, even though I thought that I had. At least I was calm and didn’t have to fight survival reactions. So that’s a plus as far as I’m concerned even if I didn’t land it.

  2. Stan says:

    Alsome video. That light pole is way too close for comfort.

  3. Marianne says:

    Shawn and I were laughing our asses off at Joe and his reenactment of the crash, running down the street and sidewalk making aiiighhh!! noises. HAHAHA! It is good to see you moving around though. You’ll get her back soon! And just think, your class is coming up!!

    Get well babe!

    • MissBusa says:

      He’s such a hoser. ROFL I guess that’s why I love his ass. He’s still making fun of me, too. Guess I had it coming, since I did the same to him when he had his ‘occurrence’ on his Connie 14. LOL I’m going to Wal-Mart to see if they have some security footage of the get-off. Would like to know what the hell happened.


Leave a Reply

