Racing On A Budget

I don’t even know how the subject came about, but we’re tooling down I-20W on our way home from jobs we both hate, in weather we both got screwed by and employers who couldn’t care less. Not like they have to be out here in this crap, being up for over 24 hours doing what we do (respectively). Sucks to have superior driving skills! πŸ˜‰ But that’s another story and not one for this blog.

After having been able to get in about 3 to 4 hours of sleep in the backseat of the truck, waiting for Mr. Slow to come in from his run, I feel almost human again. The zombie-like feeling that had plagued me for the better part of the morning has finally abated and I had occasion to try out my new goose down ultra-light sleeping bag in 30-degree F weather so I didn’t have to sit there and idle for hours. At least now I know I’m good for track days even when the nightly temps dip into the 30s (and I even get to crack a window for some fresh air). Good to know, especially if I had vegetarian chili recently. =D

Where was I? Oh yeah, the subject of the iPhone came up when Mr. Slow announced that he was going to get me one for my birthday, since I hadn’t told him what I wanted. I replied that I didn’t want one. He gave me a confused look, then brought up that I had been talking about it. I reply that yes, maybe when my BlackBerry gives up its ghost and I am in the market for a replacement.

“How much are those things anyway?” I ask.

“With a 2-year contract, probably a couple hundred bucks. That’s my guess.”

“$200??? Heck with that, you can get a freakin’ minibike for that price!”

“You really want one of those?”

“Hell yeah! You look totally retarded on one and they look like a ton of immature unadulterated fun! They go like 50 miles per hour before performance upgrades and tweaks!”

“Holy shit! Well, then get one of those and that’ll be your birthday present.”

GP RS-R

The GP RS-R: If Miss Busa manages to kill herself, it'll probably be on this thing. πŸ˜‰ Six days and a wakeup and we're going to have a mini-session in throttle therapy.

A few over-the-hill jokes later we were home and online shopping for a pocket rocket. Besides, granny has to have something appropriate to teach her grandson Shant, the Nubbinator, the fine art of dragging knee when he turns three. With a speed governor, of course, and a remote kill switch. I wonder if they make one-piece racing leathers for three-year olds with little knee pucks and all that…

I think I might race those instead. Hell, with an engine costing about $100 and a set of fairings or slicks around the $35 price point… it’s racing on a mini-budget! I wouldn’t even need a damn sponsor. Hahahaha… Of course, now I have to figure out how to mold & shape fiberglass so I can make the thing look like a baby S1000RR! It is scheduled for delivery on the 18th. w00t!!!


3 Comments on “Racing On A Budget”

  1. Ms XX Fast says:

    That is SO awesome! I take no responsibility for turning you on to minibikes πŸ˜‰ I am jealous! My little one is electric and slow. The two strokes are loud but way more powerful πŸ™‚ http://www.usapocketbikes.com/rsr-mini-bike/ I just *know* you are going to be tweaking yours lol I actualyl want to set up a little mni bike race for charity again. Chris Ulrich did one before I think. That would be awesome to do again. I would compete πŸ™‚

    I am so excited to hear read some minibike blogs and see some vids πŸ™‚

    • MissBusa says:

      Six days, girl. Six days and I will forgo necessary sleep, weather permitting, and see if I can still fit into my leathers and have Mr. Slow shoot some footage of me looking completely ridiculous, engaging in some dumbassery and dragging ass cheeks, toes, knees, and whatever else happens to fall off. I think last time I wore leathers was early October, and then there was the food orgy that is the time between T-Day and X-mas. Yikes!!! I can’t wait!!!

  2. chesshirecat says:

    The mini bikes are so nice at the track as well. Getting from here to there (the trailer to the snack bar… is a favorite of mine). Or truck as the world may have it. You get the drift…speaking of drift…oh never mind…tell me, how would you recommend setting up the suspension on the mini bike for knee draggin’ fun? I just wanna know! πŸ™‚ Sounds like your gonna be so cute with you leathers…
    Luv this everyday writing. Very humorous.


Leave a Reply

