Vintage Goodness

Miss Busa has told me in the past, that I need to blog more often, so I thought I’d throw this one out there today.

Recently I’ve become interested in things of the “more vintage” age. So, as is always appropriate, I thought I should look into the maintenance of said old things. When things turn around 40 years old, they have to be treated differently. Sometimes extremely differently, sometimes only slightly.

Let’s start with maintenance. Although things over 40 do require special attention, I’m finding it’s not a lot different than what I was already used to. I mean, she… er, I mean that vintage item has always required that special loving touch. Vintage items should be checked out by the doctor, I mean service tech a little more often. You may find that the equipment overheats a little quicker, than turns cold. It’s not always a problem with the thermostat, sometimes it’s a matter of hormones, I mean a clogged radiator.

Senior Class Racing

Welcome to Senior Class Racing, Miss Busa. You are now eligible.

I have noticed that you just can’t ride a 40 year old as hard as newer model. On the other hand, I have noticed that the old gal can go longer, if not as fast. Many people believe that an older model is simply broke in better, more comfortable to ride. I can attest that I find this true for me. 40 year old equipment is quick to tell you exactly what it needs, and when it needs it. Change that oil when it’s scheduled, don’t put it off. Lube all the points that need it. Oh, and for goodness sake, don’t forget to put the seat down, you’ll never hear the end of it!

You’ll find that the “antiqued” things in your life will become more and more precious to you. I know that I don’t want to be without those that have been with me for a really really long time. Sure sometimes 40 year old things don’t always put out the power and surge that you want, but one thing’s for sure, it will be with you at the finish line. Just make sure you satisfy all her… I mean the antique’s needs.

In closing I’d like to say that although a brand new crotch rocket can do the quarter in 8.5 seconds, there is much to be said about a ride that will take you all the way through the long haul and stick with you through all the trials of life. Newer isn’t always better, sometimes the wisdom that comes age is better than a world record held by the newest speed bike.

Happy Birthday Miss Busa, I love you and will ride… er… stick with you to the end.

Mr. Slow

Image Credits:
Royalty-free image I have bought the usage rights to and have then modified. Please respect that, and do likewise. However, if you would like to use this particular version on your site, please get in touch with me first. I do find the stuff people steal from me, eventually.


One Comment on “Vintage Goodness”

  1. MissBusa says:

    And this coming from an old codger fart seven years my senior with a bum knee and a set of bifocals to whom I have to read the menu when he forgets his glasses?

    Stuff a sock in it, Mr. Slow!


Leave a Reply

