Reviewed To Write

Reviews, reviews, reviews. I can’t bring myself to write them. I don’t know why. Is it boring drudgery? Probably. Would it help other riders? Definitely. Would it bring in some swag? Maybe. There is really no negative point about reviews that I can make. So why do I find it so hard to do them? I really don’t know, but writing product reviews just seems like such work. I don’t want writing to turn into work. I have my job for that. It’s uninspiring. It’s boring. I have to actually go out and take pictures of my stuff, too. I thought I’d never do how-tos or walkthroughs and some have already crept into my blog. But I’ve had fun doing those, for some odd reason. Or it just turned out to be a pseudo-walkthrough as I was writing without intention of doing so. Sometimes it just comes and it’s better not to fight it or you end up hating the whole mess and quit for several weeks, because “IT” is looming over your head.

I don’t want to write reviews, but I have been told that I need to. That it would be in “my best interest”, that it could eventually turn into another source of revenue to fuel my racing passion. I’m not a technical writer, though. I don’t know what kind of writer I really am, since I never thought I would be writing as regularly as I do now. I wasn’t aspiring to become a blogger. It just sort of happened and I’ve quit several times. Yet here I am. And from the looks of it, I might be more successful at writing than I am at riding. That is a scary thought. One I will not even entertain past this sentence.

I’d rather make people disappear for money.

In Photoshop. I’m good at that. I have a six-pack of beer, one completely pissed off client and a very satisfied customer to tell me as much. 🙂


One Comment on “Reviewed To Write”

  1. Dandooligan says:

    Um, you’re a great writer… A technical writer is somebody who writes manuals…. I’m sure you could do it, but who wants to? Writing a review is all about noticing details about something and figuring out how well it works for it’s intended purpose. This blog has been a review about the Busa, your S1000RR, and most especially about the shop experience you had with the guys who sold you the bike…. You review things you’re going to buy, things you need, things you want, in your head anyway. Just tell everybody else what you’re thinking, what you’re going through while you’re doing it… I can’t wait to read them…


Leave a Reply

