The Man Refused To Watch

I just finished watching @MsXXFastRR’s videos from her first WERA West race weekend. Her friend has them posted on her YouTube channel. And as I watched them take off and start racing around the track, I started feeling a little sick to my stomach. Good grief! Is this how fast we are going? Seriously? It doesn’t look that fast when you’re on the bike. Neither does POV footage look all that fast. But watching it over the pit lane wall? Holy shite! No wonder Mr. Slow disappeared into thin air and blamed the heat for not sticking around when he met me at Barber in June. I probably would have run away screaming had I been the one watching him doing laps. Well, with his skill, I have reason to be worried.

I can see it now: Mr. Slow on his Concours 14 turning laps, hanging his cheeks into the breeze, hoping that the zipper on his four-cow one-piece race leathers won’t bust or that he’ll slam that Connie right into the ground with his huge weight shift… People watch him go by and are astonished: “He didn’t even take the bags off!”

Yup, that’s my man! Or would be, if he had any interest in track riding. He went to the 1/4-mile strip once. He did 75 at the trap. He said he was going faster, but slowed down because he didn’t know where the thing ended. Puhleeeze!

Seriously though, I just can’t get over this. Makes me wonder if I’m off my rocker, insane in the membrane, three mils short of proper preload.

Seriously, I want to do WHAT?!?

Let’s just say, I don’t blame the man. I understand now. I understand.


4 Comments on “The Man Refused To Watch”

  1. Mr.Slow says:

    So, she finally sees. I’m there for Jennings.

  2. Linky to the videos?

    And yea, racers are crazy… Or rather, as I like to put it, they have a different frame of reference for danger. They know that speed doesn’t kill or maim, rapid deceleration does. They know when tires start to slide. They know limits and understand practical physics better than the non-racer. And they know life is much better lived on the edge.

    • MissBusa says:

      Sorry. 😦 Not mine to share. It’s raw footage anyway, give Miss Extra-Extra Freakin’ Fast Arr! Arr! a chance to edit and put it on her blog. She hasn’t even done anything with it yet. It just doesn’t seem right.


Leave a Reply

