It’s Crunch Time

I just received a phone call from Mr. Slow. Sad news for his partner at work and bad news for me. My weekend at JenningsGP has just turned into a solo flight. Which means I will have to work all night Thursday, then go home, put the bike in the back of the pickup truck, load all my junk; then drive 167 miles to get my 12K service done on my poor neglected S1000RR; turn around and drive 267 miles, about five more hours, from Marietta, GA to Jennings, FL and hope to make it there before the gate closes at 10PM or I’ll be sleeping outside the gate parked on the side of the road.

Let’s pretend for a moment that I don’t have the shittiest luck in the history of shitty luck and I make it to the track before they lock up. At this point, I wouldn’t have slept a wink in about 28 hours and I still have to set up my pit area and get the bike down the ramp by myself. Check it all over once again to make sure nothing’s rattled loose on the trip, and finish prepping and hopefully have time to catch a few hours of sleep before registration and tech at 7AM.

I am so dead.

I also seem to be one week into developing an inner ear infection, which I have to take care of later today by procuring myself some antibiotics. Hopefully they can squeeze me in at the doctor’s office.  Hopefully, the vertigo will have abated somewhat before my first session on the track. Hopefully, I won’t have lap times above 1:35. Hopefully, I won’t look like a total douche out there since I have to represent. Chances are I’m going to be (yet again) the only female rider in the joint. I won’t be at the top of my game, that’s for sure. I’m not even 100% certain that this is such a good idea. As a matter of fact, I know it isn’t. But, that’s racing. Or so they say. And I haven’t even raced yet and I’m already knee-deep in “I might just regret this” territory.

It’s not going to be pretty. Hand me some Xanax, an overdose of caffeine, and my knee sliders, I’m going in! Or out. One or the other, not sure yet which it is going to be.

Note to self: Bring 50 gallon drum of sugar-free Red Bull, because not only does it give you wings, it also consistently shaves at least 2 seconds off your lap times and can be used as a projectile weapon in those rare cases where a low-flying wrench just won’t do.


5 Comments on “It’s Crunch Time”

  1. Dandooligan says:

    lol, brilliant! How we weave a web of challenges for our selves. I’ve done it. I’m sure I’ll do it again. Sometimes seeing if you can pull it off is part of the fun. However, if I were in your situation, I’d forgo the bike’s maintenance, and just have it done after the racing weekend. You know the bike is good because nothing is wrong with it now. What if, indeed, the shop gets hurried and doesn’t bolt something on right. Then you’re sabotaged yet again. I don’t think the pirate would get hurt from a bit more use…. But you do what you feel is right.

    • Miss Busa says:

      I’m just going to have to go with the flow… I’m stressing because there seems like there’s so much stuff to do and not enough time to do it. I’m also stressing because I’m getting a case of “the nerves”, which is normal. I always do. I just have to recognize that most of the stress is not from being overwhelmed with “stuff” but from my anxiety. But I can’t help it, I get really strung out before an important event, test, job interview, you name it.

      And knowing that I won’t be 100% physically because I’m “coming down with something”, makes it so much worse. Which, now I’m also worried about skill execution. JenningsGP is a fast track… I don’t know if I like “fast” over a more “slow” track. I’m not sure if I can find my rhythm on a track that has stupid-fast sections and then tight ones… I prefer tight corners to fast sweepers and short straights to long ones… I dunno why. But again, it’s probably because I’m getting the pre-track jitters. I’ll have to shut the brain off for a while I think; and just try and get back into the “looking forward to it, can’t wait” mindset.

  2. mtajudy says:

    Oh, darlin..if it were easy we would all be doin it. And then where would you be? I wish I werent knee dip in my own Shiit or I would load my old butt on a plane and meet you there…pit crew, ya know. Or, I could hold your sugar free Red Bull while you have a mini break-down, then kick you in the butt and put you on your bike. I cant wait to hear how it goes… she said with a wink while shaking her pom-poms. LOL Im not wearing the stupid skirt but, I do love the pom-poms. GO MISS BUSA…GO KICK SOME ASS


Leave a Reply

