My Baby’s Got Game

This is just one shot that Mr. Slow took, of about 1200 frames total. He needs to put himself out there, he’s good. Hell, he could keep me in tire money for a few race weekends at least. I am apparently a rubber ho. I go through one set per day. What the hell happened to four or five track days? Damn Pirate goes through shoes like she does rum.

Exiting Turn 13 shooting for the apex of T14 to haul my Pirate booty down the front straight. I’m on the gas here. I made a lot of grown men cry in this turn. But if you’re on the brakes down shifting while I’m on the gas, you really deserve getting passed by a girl.

I have a sticker on my bike. You can make it out in Mr. Slow’s shot. It’s right above my right-side mirror mount. It reads: “Warning: Does not play well with others.”

It totally rawks to have my own personal track photographer. He also fetches tools, drives me there and puts up with my shit.

I’ll let you borrow him for your next track day. For a small fee, of course. Just feed him regularly and keep him properly hydrated and don’t forget to pass out the prescribed dose of caffeine, PRN.

image


15 Comments on “My Baby’s Got Game”

  1. Strega_Rossa says:

    Neat shot…. but where’s the lap times?! πŸ˜€ Track record is around 1:14 so you did what like mid 1:50’s?? C’mon share the good numbers to go with the great shots.

    • Miss Busa says:

      1:35:80 was my best lap. Timed with flicking the Pirate’s high beam switch when in lap timer mode every time I remembered to when crossing the start/finish. So it’s inaccurate to say the best. I have to look at the bike’s stored laps to see where my consistency lies. But I’m guessing lower 1:40s one-handed. πŸ˜‰

  2. Dandooligan says:

    That’s looking great lady! So how was the entire weekend then, with the whole rigmarole and worries you had?

    • Miss Busa says:

      As with all worries that I usually stress myself out over, they were for naught. I had a blast. Almost got into an intellectual shoot-out with one of the control riders and I would have told him exactly what I thought about his uh… comments, but decided to just let him have his way, because Ed was waiting to start class and I didn’t feel like arguing with this particular person was going anywhere anyway. He was probably just pissed because he couldn’t pass me because I was in “his line”. LOLOL More on that later. You bet I’m going to have a thing or so to say about that. You know me, I have no tolerance for BS. Especially when it comes to my riding skill development.

  3. chesshirecat says:

    Fantastic shot! I’d kill for a lens that would allow me that kind of shot! Look at that knee! WOW… Lookin’ so good out there! SOOOOO good. :0

    • Miss Busa says:

      I swear his pics are soooo much better than the track photographers. Seriously. And they had a lens that cost $10K but an older camera body with lesser pixel density. I compared what little I have seen of his work (he’s at work, won’t be done processing, color correcting and fiddling until Tuesday night when he’s got time to get busy) He could make some coin on a track that doesn’t have a photographer on staff or contracted.

      A friend I’ve made there, she’s gonna be so happy with him. Because once he found out we were becoming fast (pun intended) friends, he started shooting her on her Ducati. I don’t know why he doesn’t put himself out there… I think it’s because he doesn’t think he’s good enough. But for someone like me who’s just after some good shots of herself on her bike, I don’t apparently have an eye for quality past my knee puck being in focus on contact or something. LOLOL

  4. Faceyman says:

    I love it…β€œWarning: Does not play well with others.” Great pic, you are going to have to teach me how to wear out the knee sliders on my new racing pants!

    • Miss Busa says:

      Thank you. πŸ™‚ Here’s the knee slider lesson (calling this a crash course would not be really all that appropriate considering the subject matter, or would it?!?):

      1. Get on the gas.
      2. Shift. Shift. Shift.
      3. Neglect first personal reference point for braking because we need to go in just a little deeper.
      4. Remember that you were supposed to downshift one gear.
      5. Get panties (or Jockey shorts) in a bunch because now you realize you’re running outta time.
      6. Throw in the blasted downshift and forget to blip the throttle.
      7. Exhale.
      8. Thank the God of Speed for slipper clutches.
      9. Throw your ass over the seat and crank the bike over.
      10. Pucks will only touch the ground if your corner entry is accompanied by thoughts of “Holy shit, I’m going too fast.”
      11. Enjoy the moment as you realize that you’re holding your bike up with nothing but a piece of composite plastic between the pavement and your knee cap, your tires are gripping, the bike holds its line like it’s on rails and you shaved another second off your lap time. πŸ˜‰
      12. Wait about a minute or so.
      13. Repeat.

  5. mtajudy says:

    The shot is really fantastic. To be able to get that kind of clarity!! He must have some rockin equipment.
    You look like a pro out there, girl! One big huge congratulations to you for having the balls to do it. You might not play well with others but, you are at the top of my list of future top notch racers that doesnt need to play well. Cant believe how much fun it is to watch it! Thank you for sharing it with us.

    • Miss Busa says:

      Thank you, Judy, so much for your kind words. I hope I won’t disappoint. I’m having a blast and that’s what it’s about for me. I’m way too old for “future top notch racer” but just to hear that it could be a possibility for me to actually get that fast makes me feel alright. =D

  6. Michelle Linton says:

    Awesome shot! You really look great out there. And Mr. Slow does a fabulous job. Guess more marketing needs to be done for both of you. Can’t believe you are going through shoes each track day. Got to get you a BIG sponsor!

    • Miss Busa says:

      A tire sponsor WOULD be nice. That’s really the main expense. And I couldn’t believe it either. Whatever happened to four or five track days per set?!? I’m thinking that I could actually manage one race weekend, running all four classes (Solo, Superstock, Women’s Superstock, and Senior Superbike) on one set. I’ve got about 66 laps out of the Dunlops, before the rear started breaking loose at my normal speed; so I should be good, since WERA sprints are 6 laps each and the solos are 20 laps, but only for the leaders. Depending on how many times I get lapped the solo might be a heck of a lot shorter for me. LOL


Leave a Reply

