The Cost Of Girly

It has finally arrived: the moment of truth. I had to, defeatedly I might add, admit to myself, that maybe I need to step up to the beauty counter, flash the plastic and ramp up my game in the skin deep sector. All my preparations and focus have been with my skill development and my bike’s setup. I have never wasted much thought on the “public image” side of things. Yes, it’s easier for girls in motorcycle racing to get sponsorship. There aren’t really a lot of us out there; hence we have an advantage over the boys. And apparently there is nothing that sells bike parts and performance upgrades better than a hot chick wrapped around a motorcycle. If she rides too? Oh hell! The boys won’t be able to keep it in their pants (motorcycles and the wallet, respectively).

It’s about time, I’d say. I’m used to having to prove myself thrice (yes, that is a word ;)) over just to get the same credit as a man does. In the military it was this way, at least in my unit. In corporate America it is this way, at least at my company. And it is like that on the track, too. Sorry, I have to say this, but the majority of men don’t take you seriously until you blow past them in the curves, and then some of these fellas still want to critique your technique. Find fault not with themselves but with you. “You weren’t using the proper line.” or “You’re just making up for your lack of skill with your horsepower.” Say what? Ok, whatever. I just hope that this is just another case of the “squeaky wheel”, that the perception is skewed due to the guys who know better keeping out of it, maybe snicker under their breath at the more verbose idiots of the crowd.

I’ve gotten used to it. I don’t mind it. I just do my own thing. I listen. I observe. I keep my trap shut, my ears open, and I learn. If they underestimate me, then the element of surprise is on my side later when I need it to be. I like it that way. I like it that way in business, too. Go ahead and think I’m a nobody and a little on the daft side, too; dull enough not to get it or too insecure to do something about it. It’s all good in the great scheme of things, even if it bugs the piss out of me occasionally and I want to blow a gasket and set things straight in a manner that is the only way some of these people will understand. But I digress.

Maybe it is my self-confidence that had me cruising along without thought about my apparent lack of girlyness. Maybe it is the fact that I am lazy and when it’s time to get up in the morning to do stuff, I want to roll out of bed and hit the ground running, after I had my two cups of coffee, of course. My skin has always been sensitive, and makeup makes me break out, so I gave up trying eventually. I also can’t stand stuff on my skin that makes it feel icky. Oils, lotions, sun screen, bug spray, I won’t use it. I refuse, until of course the ickiness factor is overshadowed by the benefits the application of said substance would provide. Yuck! Maybe I’m just too much of a tomboy. I’ve gotten away with it, and still do; but as I’m getting older, I realize that maybe I need to start “helping it along” a little.

I need some promo shots for my racer profile and web site and various other projects. And I have a feeling it’s best if I don’t look like I just came rolling in from a track session in 90-degree weather, and had previously changed my tires and flushed a radiator. My skin needs better care, since I spend way more time outside now and my hands are torn up from all the mechanical work I’m doing. I hate wearing mechanic’s gloves. I can’t feel enough through them, so they end up getting tossed eventually.

I stopped by the mall on my way home from work. I walked straight into Sephora, did a little window shopping, got a little sticker shock, almost walked the hell back out. When a lady approached me to ask if I needed help, in a sheer move of spontaneous desperation, I answered: “Yes, I am lost. I have a photo shoot soon, and I need to hook myself up with some skin care and makeup. I have combination skin, yellow undertones, am allergic and don’t like gunky, sticky stuff on my skin. But please take it easy on the bank.”

So she went around the store, me following behind like a lost kitten. Listening to her, trying stuff, picking colors. At one point I must have made the decision to do what I always do in life and go all out, balls to the wall.

An hour later and only $200 short of a full set of racing glass for my S1000RR, I left the store with beautification loot and a promise to let Pat, the lady who helped me, know how it goes and give her a photo for her locker.

“I thought you were going to take it easy on me.”

“I did, girl.”

I rode home and wanted to cry. I could have gotten a Power Commander V with auto-tuning or a GPS lap timer/data acquisition unit or a full set of front-rear sprocket combos for the amount of coin I just blew on “selling out to enhancing my chances of sponsorship”.

I need to incorporate Team PLD Racing. This has the smell of total loss tax deduction about it…

The Tools of The Girly Trade


17 Comments on “The Cost Of Girly”

  1. I hear you loud & clear! You’ve nailed it when it comes to being underestimated as a woman. Used to do the whole hair & makeup spiel for my job, but not so much anymore. Plus, the sight of all that goop on the pads in my helmet grossed me out. Looks like Sephora did you good (the TokiDoki stuff is very nice). Can’t wait to see the pics! ~Suzanne (the chick half of Tornado Bait Racing)

    • Miss Busa says:

      The gunk in the helmet thing? Oh yeah! YUCK! I’m not going to wear the foundation when I’m riding. I’ll do my eyes and lips. I don’t care if I look like Frankenstein’s girlfriend. When I got home last night, I took my helmet off and inspected it for goo. Luckily I couldn’t see any, but I’m taking the cheek pads out and cleaning them, it’s time for it anyway.

  2. chesshirecat says:

    It sucks. But it has to be done.
    I know you’ll grab the sponsors. You’re too good at what you’re doing to be ignored. You’re a good looking gal with a great figure, AND you have you’re head screwed on right….all the means to success.

  3. Dandooligan says:

    This is awesome! I have no doubts that this is going to mean great things for you, and I don’t mean to tell you what to do. Maybe just act as support, if you need it…. But don’t get bullied into taking those racy shots. I’m probably in the minority, but a beautiful woman on a motorcycle, who also conveys self-respect by keeping all her clothes on is sexier than a bikini model. Besides, your leathers do you justice! 😛 I can’t wait for the photos!

    • Miss Busa says:

      I don’t think there will be occasion of the photographer talking me into “racy shots”, since Mr. Slow is the one who’s doing my shoot. And I’ll slap him silly if he holds up a thong and says put this on, baby. ;P

      No, I would never. I’ll be in my leathers on or around my bike. And head shots. No funky shit! Hehehe

  4. Why after all these years is it still a man’s world? Or as I like to call it where I work, the boys club! Just don’t get me started on that one … You go girl! Can’t wait to see your photo shoot!!

    • Miss Busa says:

      I don’t know. Even in nursing, which is a female dominated profession, the male nurses get paid more. Maybe it’s because we are the ones getting pregnant and having kids and missing work all the time. Who knows, but I don’t think it’s right. Whatever the reason may be, since I can’t change it, I just try and work with it and not think about it too hard, or else I get mad as hell. Merit based; color, gender, all that jazz shouldn’t have a bearing. They should conduct job interviews via email for a good start. Hahahaha

  5. sherry says:

    Can’t wait to see the photos!! I gave up makeup. I used it for awhile and everyone oohhh ahhhhh you look so good with it on …bah! As I get older in life I find I want things easier and putting that stuff on my face every day and having to carry powder and such around is not easy for me. Good for you going for broke to get the sponsors!! I need to take a long weekend and come see you at the track

    • Miss Busa says:

      I totally feel you. I used my sensitive skin and allergic reactions as an excuse, so I didn’t have to get “into it” with people, defending your decision to either wear it or not. It seems that if you don’t wear makeup all the time and have your hair perfect, you’ve let go of yourself and don’t care about yourself. BS. But a girl’s gotta do, what a girl’s gotta do. We really don’t need another “man” in the sport. ROFL

  6. blackwidow says:

    Oh the heck with the whining! Look cute, go fast, and blow their tires off! You’ve got it all, looks, speed, motivation- use it.

  7. Strega_Rossa says:

    You also could have side stepped the make up purchase and gone to a glamour shot studio where they do your hair and make up, get it right and take your photo using various poses and outfits.

    • Miss Busa says:

      I’ve done Glamour Shots twice before, back in the Nineties. Fun place to go. They are still around? But they probably would have had a fit when I rode the bike through the mall to get to the joint. LOL


Leave a Reply

