It’s Miller Time!

I want to race at Miller Motorsports Park! Don’t ask me why, I have not the answer. All I know is that if I don’t somehow pull it off this season, I’ll never set rubber on that track. I google the driving directions and as luck would have it, I could pick up my daughter roughly around the halfway point of the trip. She can be my pit crew again.

20120112-112655.jpg

Not that she earns her keep. Last time she was with me she wouldn’t even pay for her mother’s gate fee. (Yeah, I hit my daughter up for twenty bucks!) The dudes in line behind us busted out laughing, overhearing our lively discussion on who was to pay for the bracelets. Happy Mother’s Day to you, too! Then she has the nerve to write ‘Crew’ on the sign-in sheet! Oh, hell, girl! You’ve done it now.

“Crew, huh?”
“Well, yeah…”
“Good. I’ll put you to work then!”

[astonished silence, then:]

“What? Whyyy? I don’t know nuthin’…”

“You made your broke ass mother pay for your gate fee!”

[another round of chuckles from the back of the line]

She sits in her chair in our pit, looks pretty and texts the entire time she’s there. Every once in a while she takes care of the tire warmer duty, but I don’t think she even puts the phone down for that. I do believe I saw her without her phone once when she came to Barber with me last year. She was too busy freaking the hell out when her Mom didn’t come into the pits after the practice session had been red flagged.

This time she’s gonna take a turn driving. Wonder if she would want to go, it would be an awesome opportunity for her to do her photography. Wonder if Margie was up for it? Girly road trip of epic proportions. And maybe I could talk MsXXFast “111” into meeting me there, so we can finally put the who’s faster question to rest. Time to get that Taser cannon installed on the bike… 😉

I’m marking my calendar and keep my fingers xd… May 18-20, 2012.


2 Comments on “It’s Miller Time!”

  1. Dandooligan says:

    On Route 2, you’ll be passing by right by me. You should stop for a cup of coffee or something…. If you’d like to do this, let me know in advanced so I’m not somewhere else in the States when you come through…. Also, have you ever driven through Kansas and Nebraska? If you haven’t, make sure you have cruise control, and LOTS of books on tape….

    • Miss Busa says:

      Route 2 is the one I would be taking, since that’s where I would be picking my daughter up, even if she doesn’t want to go (or can’t), I’d still be staying there for the night to save some money without having to sleep in the pickup. Thanks for the Kansas/Nebraska tip… I used to live in Missouri and yes, I know all about THAT particular stretch of Roadtrip Hell. Corn… corn… corn… corn… corn…blech. Actually have done the KCMO-SLCUT trip once, hence the need for a road buddy, not that I should go by myself. If I wad it up in Utah, it’s a long way home and one hell of a logistical nightmare. :/

      I want to do this badly! But that’s a LOT of gas money 4200 miles in gas money. All the other expenses remain the same. I better start looking at the budget and see if I can get that together. Hell, I would skip a race or two, just to make this one. Not to mention that I really don’t want to end up with the most points at the end of the year… that would be bad. I’m not ready to be thrown to the wolves in the Expert class, so this might give me the perfect excuse not to show up at a race or two later…

      …we shall see how it goes and what my point standings are by then (there are three races scheduled before this one). However, since I’m planning on starting school again this fall, this is probably the last shot I have at this in a loooooong time.

      And I’ll definitely let you know if this dream becomes reality, because by the time I get to around where you live, I’ll be ready for some coffee. =D


Leave a Reply

