Salty Dawg!

The God of Speed seems to have it decreed that I will not go very, very fast in a straight line for a considerable distance any time soon. I’ve been trying to make it to the Maxton Mile for two years now. Something always happened to prevent me from going. Now, the Maxton Mile is no more, they moved the entire operation elsewhere. I would have to go about 600 miles to Wilmington, OH to get my linear acceleration on.

ECTA‘s very first race at the Ohio Mile is slated for the weekend of Aril 28-29, 2012.

Mr. Slow takes the Missus to the local drag strip because her race starts suck. Weeee... that was fun! If only I had been able to control the Beemer's tendency to wheelie better, I could have been so much faster... By the way, my race starts still suck. =D

Then the entire idea of turning laps at Miller near Salt Lake City, UT brought another item on my Bucket List back into focus: Bonneville. Should I not waste the gas money in my anorexic racing budget on something a little more in line with my dream, the actual item on my Bucket List? Pulling a Burt Munro on the Salt. Not that I would have a chance to set any sort of record in any eligible class, or even come close. The only things Burt Munro and I have in common: I am old, I am spending my life savings, and I, too, wrench a little on my own stuff.

It would be victory enough to go and do it and come home to blog about it without having to conclude a paragraph with the words: “…and that’s how I wrecked my shit”.

To hell with setting records, I just want that elusive 200-mph sticker to slap on my bike! That would be enough for this girl! Not that I could do it anyway, not realistically. I haven’t the money to upgrade my bike to get past a theoretical 196. Even if I starved myself for a month… but there’s always the fantasy of the stars aligning just right and a decent tail wind to propel me towards my dreams…

The World of Speed week at the Bonneville Salt Flats is held September 8-11, 2012.


3 Comments on “Salty Dawg!”

  1. Faceyman says:

    Do it! As Anthony Hopkins playing Burt Munro in the World’s Fastest Indian said, “You live more in five minutes on a bike like that, going flat out, than some people live in a lifetime.”

    • Miss Busa says:

      That’s my favorite quote of all time. That sums it up quite nicely, doesn’t it?

      I have some planning, thinking, research to do and find a friend who’s willing to come with me. I’ll see how the season goes… If all works out and no surprises, I might just be in for adventure this fall. I’m tired of life telling me ‘no’.

      BTW, nice to hear from you again. 🙂 Hope all is well in your part of the world.

  2. Dandooligan says:

    Hrm Hrm Hrm… Yes, although it would be sweet to run the flats and come home with everything still shiny, it would be even sweeter to come home with that sticker! Although Burt’s story is brilliant,he waited for a very long time to make his dream happen… Could a few more years of patience for you mean that you could have your cake and eat it to? Just playing devil’s advocate here… I am Carpe Diem myself, but just saying…


Leave a Reply

