Vee-Roddin’ It Down Nostalgia BLVD

20120119-005436.jpg
Just look at the enthusiasm of the newly initiated. Not four months into riding I was already itching to trade in my 2008 Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Low for something bigger, faster, stronger.

I happened across this pic by accident, and it made me sink into the warm embrace of nostalgia. Coincidentally, it wasn’t but two days ago we stopped into Augusta Harley Davidson to look at V-Rods. The Slow One has new-bike fever, but since he doesn’t want to admit it, I practically had to kick him in the ass, plop him on the bike, and knock the kickstand out from under him so he would stay put. He says he doesn’t want to park his bum on bikes he can’t get. Hogwash!!!

His face lit up when he spotted the Muscle. Now he had no problem taking a seat. He seemed so… I don’t even know the proper term. Like a kid in the toy store.

“Baby, buy me one of these!”

Sure, I’ll race it. Why the hell not? If things had gone just a little different, I would have thrown my leg over an ’08 Night Rod with mid-controls, instead of the Suzuki Hayabusa. What kind of rider would I be today, if that had happened? Probably would have never turned into a knee dragger or even considered racing.

Oh hell, who am I kidding here? I would have ended up burning rubber and getting high on the smell of race gas somewhere else instead: at the Quarter Mile.

Hubby then remembered that his wife races and therefore he has no money. The Old Lady spends his paycheck, too. Although, Ray said that they would take anything in trade, as long as it doesn’t need to be fed. Now you know. The “I got a Harley for my wife. It was a good trade.” bumper stickers are a lie. 😉

I realized, while we were there, I really miss the Hog HQ in Augusta. Always felt welcome there, and still do. They don’t even make you park your Japanese Girlfriend around back. 😉 The service department was awesome and never did me wrong. The parts department were a bunch of damn chrome enablers, they knew their stuff and how to separate a girl from her money. They even remembered us. Good people.

I hope someday Mr. Slow gets his wish and parks a V-Rod in our driveway… he’s gotta go to work at some point. I’ll race his shit, too!


2 Comments on “Vee-Roddin’ It Down Nostalgia BLVD”

  1. Let the Ride continue and the racing begin…

  2. […] Vee-Roddin’ It Down Nostalgia BLVD (missbusa.wordpress.com) Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Leave a Reply

